PDA

View Full Version : Question about lockers - when do you need them?

Jackie
June 15th, 2010, 10:03 PM
I'd like to learn more about what "lockers" are all about. My Jeep has electronic lockers, front and rear, and I've only used them once. And I forgot to turn them off and had a hell of a time trying to make a sharp left switch-back turn. (It took me a second to figure out why)!... HUH??? 3-point turn on THIS??? Whah???!!! OK I figured it out and all was good. But when do use just the front... just the back.,.; or both?

Thanks!

Rob
June 15th, 2010, 10:11 PM
I'm no expert but based on what you've said about your wheeling preferences on the site, you're not likely to get into a situation where you'd need both lockers. I have only a rear locker in the FJC and use it only when I absolutely have to. Otherwise, I run open. I like the rear locked for steep hills or on wet or snowy rocks where I'm sliding without the locker on.

And the 40's not locked at all, so it's not an issue.

You're likely to get better answers from those who are locked front and back.

Jackie
June 15th, 2010, 10:15 PM
Thanks Dr. I'll take all the advise I can get!

Pathrat
June 15th, 2010, 10:50 PM
I have used my lockers on steep and loose ascents, like DrOldUnit. When I have been on an uphill obstacle, be in this one spot on Elephant Hill or a dirt and mud bog here, and I could not go up or over without the lockers, hitting the lock switch has been the next step.

Brody
June 16th, 2010, 05:48 AM
Well, I'll try to help clarify this, too as I have a lockers or lockers of some sort on just about every 4x4 I have had.