PDA

View Full Version : Dana 60 advice

sunk
July 10th, 2012, 05:56 PM
Ive had my dana 60 front for almost a year and havent accomplished much. Recently I purchased some parts to start the rebuild. While dissasembling, I encountered several items that I have no experience with and am looking for help identiflying parts that need replacing.

I have no experience with carriers, the gears and bearings look good, but Im not certain.

The axels have some wear and pitting, looks like wear around the area the brearings ride. Do they need replacement?

Im sure Ill have more questions but I figured it was a start.

Robert B
July 10th, 2012, 06:09 PM
uhh i would have to feel it but if its rough like sandpaper (finer grit ) then it will probably slowly eat bearings and if its real rough i wouldnt use it ......it seems like that part of the axle isnt touching the bearing alot since the rust started and was worn off at the same time but im not quite sure there.......... i just know the bearing surface does much better when its completely smooth and round just my 2 cents on what i know :)

Rick
July 10th, 2012, 06:12 PM
uhh i would have to feel it but if its rough like sandpaper (finer grit ) then it will probably slowly eat bearings and if its real rough i wouldnt use it ......it seems like that part of the axle isnt touching the bearing alot since the rust started and was worn off at the same time but im not quite sure there.......... i just know the bearing surface does much better when its completely smooth and round just my 2 cents on what i know :)Agree totally/ looks like water has been there

Hypoid
July 10th, 2012, 07:02 PM
The axels have some wear and pitting, looks like wear around the area the brearings ride. Do they need replacement?

My experience is with 44s and 30s, but if your front axle has open knuckles, the seals are housed just outside the bearings. That shiny surface on the shaft is where the seal rides. Everything outside of that can, and will rust.

sunk