PDA

View Full Version : Getting A New Ride, Opinions and Info wanted.

Fordguy77
October 6th, 2013, 04:09 PM
I am currently looking into purchasing a new ride for my daily driver needs for work. I love my focus, but it was never meant to be my daily driver(SVT edition), and I am looking for a replacement. By trade I am a Union Millwright, and have spent a considerable time of my career booming out of Colorado, and working the western US. During these trips I lug around 3 Toolboxes which probably total close to 400lbs, As well as enough basics for a kitchen, bed room, and cloths for 2 weeks. There have been some interesting trips in my Focus because of this. Aside from that, the places i work at have varying commutes from dirt access roads to goat trails to highways. And have to be able to be driven in all serve weather conditions. The power gen industry seems to think weather ans safety aren't as important as generating power and making money, so theres no such thing as a weather day for me regardless of conditions. The round trips to these places vary anywhere from 30miles to 150miles, so fuel efficiency is nice, but not a huge concern for me. I have narrowed it down to options.

Option 1;
A 2014 Ford F150 XLT, extra-cab, long bed, 4x4 with the ecoboost V6. As it stands now I currently already own a 1970 F100, 1970 C20, and a 77 F150, so the need for a full size truck isnt huge on my list, but I do like having an 8' bed over any other bed option. Historically speaking I am a ford person and have always had good luck with them. Not meaning I haven't veered off and owned other vehicles.

The things I like about it are;
Turboed V6(more room to tune and gain power)
Long Bed
Full Size
Decent MPG Rating.

Dislike;
Only available in an automatic
Electric power steering
Over priced spec wise in comparison to the yota.
Electronic Tcase

Option 2;