PDA

View Full Version : Sheet metal help for finishing up my transmission tunnel...

Haku
February 19th, 2014, 03:13 AM
So, I'm getting towards the last legs of finishing the current phase of my Toyota Rock Crawler build, and one of the things I kind of want to farm out to someone is finishing my transmission tunnel. I raised my drivetrain up 6", which meant I needed to cut the tranny tunnel out and redo one. Well, story short, it was one of the first jobs I did on the rig, and I have been putting it off for the last two years and just want someone to finish it up.

Here is what you would be working with as a starting point (I've gotten rid of all the sound deadener and cleaned it up to a higher degree then this picture)...
http://hld-illumination.com/haku/Pictures/index.php?cmd=image&sfpg=KlRyYW5ueS1UdW5uZWwtMS5qcGcqY2ZhNGMzNDdhNjdkO ThkMWI4OGE3YWU2Y2RiZGZjOTI

What I'm hoping for is a strong setup that seals well, but can be removed so I can work on the transmission and t-case easily. The raised area over the t-case output (on the right of the picture) can be permanently welded, but I was hoping that the rest could be easily removable with dzus fasteners or just normal fasterners (I was thinking maybe Rivenuts or something).

I'm thinking a triple shifter is also gonna happen, so it would just need one hole in the top for the transmission shifter and one for a trio of t-case shifters that would come out where the closest t-case shifter is located like this one...

http://i966.photobucket.com/albums/ae148/daveztoyotaparts/new%20parts/tripleshifterDavez007.jpg