PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here with ?s

Lowfill
July 11th, 2015, 07:55 PM
Hello all, My wife and I got introduced to the 4 wheel craze over the 4th in Ouray and have decided it is something we want to do. We have owned a 2001 toyota 4 runner since new, but have not taken it off road to speak of, its the wifes baby. We want to do some exploring of the trails around the metro area, and go back to Ouray, and possible Moab at a later date. I do not think we will be doing any thing to radical, deffinatly not heavy duty rock crawling. I have been looking at 96 to 2001 Jeep Cherokees, and was wondering what was the thoughts on those. Like what year(s) would be the best, if I should look at the grand models or just the box models. Would love to get some of your oppinions on this, and hopefully be able to join some of you in the near future for some experiance and goodfellowship on the trails of Colorado.:)
:)Phil & Deb

Chris
July 11th, 2015, 08:00 PM
Hi Phil & Deb and welcome! Ouray will turn a lot of people to getting off-road!

We have owned a 2001 toyota 4 runner since new, but have not taken it off road to speak of, its the wifes baby.

That's a great truck to take off-road! Nothing against Cherokees but I like 4Runners!

Lowfill
July 11th, 2015, 08:06 PM
I thought of that. I would probably take the running boards off, and add some sliders at the beginning, then see where this excusion takes us. Anything I should be aware of with 200k + miles on it.

Chris
July 11th, 2015, 08:16 PM
The running board wouldn't last long and sliders are always the first thing to do in my opinion. 200k is no big deal if it's been maintained. I have 178k on mine and wouldn't hesitate to take it cross country. 4Runners are very capable stock so I'd start with just sliders and off-road tires and you'll be good. It's always best to learn to drive it stock before making any modifications.

xaza
July 11th, 2015, 09:17 PM
welcome to the group

The StRanger
July 11th, 2015, 09:19 PM