PDA

View Full Version : School me on XJ's

4wdhunter
March 14th, 2016, 10:49 PM
I'm looking to buy a Jeep XJ for a driver/wheeler/camping rig. I know a little about them, but not enough. Was hoping you all could let me know what to look for and what to avoid, problem areas, etc.

This won't be my only mode of transportation, but I will road it to all trails and occasionally to work. Trailer Queens are a thing of my past.

What say you?

Thanks,
Mark

Hypoid
March 15th, 2016, 12:19 AM
Less is more! The only thing worse than building a uni-body, is trying to sort out a uni-body that has been hacked by some teenager who wants a "bad-ass Jeep!"

4wdhunter
March 15th, 2016, 08:46 AM
Thanks for the response.

Can you elaborate on "hacked"? Like what to look for? I'm new to unibodies...am used to body on frame.

Stu
March 15th, 2016, 09:48 AM
There are two rectangular channels that run along the underside of the unibody (these are instead of a separate frame). Check these closely for cracks, dents, and especially shoddy repairs. Unibody stiffeners (steel angle) are commonly welded to these channels, and it would be smart to avoid a jeep that has already had this done unless it is apparent that they were done well. It would also be important to inspect the channels/rec tube up front, especially around the steering box, and upper coil spring locations. The unibody is made from much thinner steel than a standard frame so it would be a lot easier for an inexperienced fabricator to do some unintentional damage.

EKXJ87
March 15th, 2016, 09:54 AM
I think "hacked" is a watch out for poorly lifted or modified XJ,