PDA

View Full Version : Camping Trailer Advice

Java
April 9th, 2017, 08:51 AM
In may we're seriously camper shopping, we've been putting aside $$ for something brand new we're ready to pull the trigger. It's a pretty big purchase that I've never done before, trying not to make a bad choice. This is the one we're looking at, they have some good deals now, and we're hoping that after the initial spring rush we can do even better.

Has anyone had one? How are they on the trails in actual use? We want to go to places like the North Sand Hills, Rabbit Valley, Big Dominguez Campground, so I'm looking at the shortest model to fit places better. The Jayco Baja looks good too... any advice?

Does anyone use the A/C? Im thinking of passing on that and for sure passing on the TV.

Thanks!!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIkIow-v6FQ

Patrolman
April 9th, 2017, 09:05 AM
I haven't had a trailer like this, but unless you are going to have a generator or be at a camp spot with power, you won't be able to run your A/C. How you intend to use it may determine if you buy the A/C.

Since we don't have A/C, for our camper I am building a simple swamp cooler. Uses very minimal power so it can run several days on a battery charge. I also plan to install a solar panel to keep the battery charged.
https://burners.me/2012/07/30/figjam-how-to-make-a-bucket-cooler/

Java
April 9th, 2017, 09:57 AM
Probably true for the microwave as well. I like the swamp cooler idea, and they have fans for the roofvents. It's Colorado, I'm not sure we'll ever use the A/C or that we'll often / ever go to a site with hookups.

Chris
April 9th, 2017, 10:24 AM
I never had a desire for A/C myself but after spending a couple weeks in AZ with temps hitting 100+ I became a believer. I like full hookups myself and carry a generator just in case so my experience & preferences appear to be very different.

Spieg
April 9th, 2017, 11:21 AM
experience & preferences appear to be very different.
That’s it!