PDA

View Full Version : Wanna replace control arms on Jeep Rubicon TJ

RockyMtRebel
October 26th, 2017, 03:07 PM
Curious if anyone here would be able to help me replace all 8 control arms and rear drive shaft (easy) so I can angle the rear pinion and remove transfer case drop. Control arms appear to be stock and in need of replacing, and I'm planning on purchasing the Currie Enterprise adjustable control arm set. Probably would replace front and rear track bars also, if suggested..... springs and shocks are relatively new so I'll leave those for now.

This work "appears" to be relatively straight forward but I've never done any suspension work before other than replacing sway bar links & I found a loose front lower control arm bolt the other day and tightened it down, which got rid of a horrible knocking when going over the rough roads..... but other than this I don't have the tools or know-how to change out suspension parts and would love some help.

I figured some of y'all are Jeep experts and have lots of tools and I would be happy to bring beer and pizza ..... or even pay $$$$ for help versus paying a shop way too much to do half-ass work (seems to be my experience with any shop these days).

Just throwing it out there, anyone?

PhillipG65
October 26th, 2017, 03:24 PM
Well I have a neighbor mechanic who would love to work on a Rubi
However, he is my neighbor down here in Denver
His price is normally very low and even haggle at that
He is very good just wouldn't let him work on the engine

jayson44
October 27th, 2017, 01:36 PM
start now: spray all the bolts with PB Blaster. seriously, start now. this is an "easy install" job, but only if all the bolts come out! otherwise you'll be in for a good 6-8 hours. ask me how I know. :)

J.

RockyMtRebel
October 27th, 2017, 01:59 PM
I was thinking the same thing, because I already noticed a few of the control arm bolts are a bit rusty

Max
October 27th, 2017, 03:03 PM