PDA

View Full Version : Multi-day "overlanding" trip

TyTheJeepGuy
April 10th, 2020, 09:40 PM
Hello,

I have no experience doing a multiple day trip. I'd like to do some kind of overlanding trip or even just, drive down to a trail head, and have a weekend where I slowly work my way back to Denver, across multiple trails; even if I'm on pavement for some of it. But I'd like to mitigate how much pavement time there is, even if its more like just going on a very easy dirt road from trail to trail.

I was going to see if someone was willing to plan something like this for the club but with the pandemic affecting our futures indefinitely, it would be cool to just have some ideas on routes to take to accomplish this. I'm thinking for my first one I might just do a 2 night trip; Friday and Saturday night and back in town by Sunday night.

I'm going to be taking my own stab at creating a route and will post back here when I have some ideas and maybe the club can tweak them and improve them :)

Jim
April 10th, 2020, 11:26 PM
I'm interested. I started camping last season and am curious for more.

RockyMtRebel
April 11th, 2020, 07:28 AM
I’m also hoping to do a multi day trip this summer, hopefully! I’m looking at something between Moab and Saint George, which is on of the areas that fascinates me greatly. I drove through this area twice over the last month (right before and in the beginning of this outbreak).... so actually 4 times since I went out to California and back both times. Anyways, mostly stayed on pavement because I was in a hurry but there are countless dirt roads and you can connect a few to make incredible multi day trips! I’m probably going to stick to my Powerwagon for this as my Jeep would be quite uncomfortable for that long. And I wouldn’t be doing any difficult trails on a multi day trip anyways, wouldn’t want to be broken down 100 miles from anywhere!