PDA

View Full Version : What would you do differently

gragravar
March 22nd, 2009, 05:20 PM
I am starting to contemplate building up the disco II and am thinking about what I would want to do to it. I came across this write up from East Coast Rovers and their work on another Disco II. It seems pretty darn complete to me. Do me a favor, give it a read and let me know if there is anything they failed to do that you would think would give benefits to wheeling here in CO. Also is there anything they did that you would have skipped. Finally, what would you have done differently.

http://www.eastcoastrover.com/168.html

scout man
March 22nd, 2009, 06:48 PM
thats a pretty nice looking set up. Its a shame its on its way to Long Island... probably be a mall crawler most of its life. I am no expert by any means, but I think you would be in pretty good shape with that here.

4Runninfun
March 22nd, 2009, 09:10 PM
it looks pretty good, i would say start with a mild lift and good protection and go from there. get out wheeling and you'll quickly find what you need and what you can do without. like i tell everyone who is just starting to build a rig... your very first purchase should be sliders. the rocks are always bigger and don't forgive.

4Runninfun
March 22nd, 2009, 09:13 PM
also don't get the bolt on diff. guards. get the weld on ones. funrover will attest to that one!

Brody
March 23rd, 2009, 04:38 AM
Folks said what I would have said....

greenramp
March 23rd, 2009, 08:11 AM
I have a DII with 3" Rovertym, running 33" BFG, ETC... I like the build and there are small things I would change although all in all it is reliable. Kieth at RoverTracks has been working for some time on a DII axle variation and knowing that I havn't done anything to mine so that I can see what he comes up with. If he ever finishes his engine swap. I am not a big fan of the GBR stuff, although I know many people that run it.

Funrover
March 23rd, 2009, 07:44 PM
Well that is a beauty!