PDA

View Full Version : Jeep TPS Issue?

Aaron
May 4th, 2009, 11:59 AM
Hey all,

I'm no mechanic but I think I have a Throttle Position Sensor issue in my 97 TJ 4.0. Actually, I know I do. I when out wheeling yesterday (see Yankee Hill May 3 Report) and there was lots of water an mud. On the way home, the check engine light came on but there really wasn't any symptoms.

Today, I started it up and it idled pretty rough and when I blip the throttle, it acts like ti wants to cut off. If I get it past the "cut off" RPM range, it sounds better (not perfect) but then when it returns to idle it tries to die.

The code says that the TPS is not sending the correct voltage. So, I assume the TPS is not working. I disconnected the TPS and the symptoms did not change (get worse or have new ones). I'm hoping its the TPS and not wiring or the PCM so my thought is to just go get one of those and change it out, unless you guys have a better idea :)

Aaron

Funrover
May 4th, 2009, 12:03 PM
If you went and played in mud I would check connections first. chances could be water or such go in there. clean off connections and see what happens first

Aaron
May 4th, 2009, 12:06 PM
I disconnected the sensor and it looked clean and dry but I'll leave it disconnected to let it dry out.

WINKY
May 4th, 2009, 03:38 PM
your engine wont run well with the tps disconnected , also what might help is get it started and run it till it get nice and warm (normal running temp) and just let it run for a while to assist in drying out all the intake and such.

Aaron
May 4th, 2009, 03:53 PM
I just disconnected to diagnose. I wanted to see if it ran any different while it was off than when it was on. It didn't which leads me to believe that it is not doing anything (i.e. broke).

I will give the letting it run for a while idea a go and see what happens. Hopefully that fixes it.

Thanks Randy

WINKY
May 4th, 2009, 04:03 PM