PDA

View Full Version : Painting the Jeep with a Bed Liner?

DETN8R
August 8th, 2009, 11:59 PM
So, after a couple of years I'm really tired of white color my jeep is. White wouldnt have been my first choice this was all the dealer had. Anyway, I'm thinking I'd like to paint it and I've heard of people painting their rigs with bed liners. I'm wondering if anyone has any experience with it?

Prep work?

Maintenance?

etc..?

Brand Suggestions?
Was thinking the paintable herculiner can at autozone.

ShutUpHippie
August 9th, 2009, 12:13 AM
Well, I have no experience... but I have heard nothing but good things.

I'd give it a go

:2c:

Andrew
August 9th, 2009, 01:05 AM
Herculiner is the best IMO.

Prep is just cleaning and then sanding scuffing what you will be painting, then cleaning with acetone before painting on the herculiner.

Herc will NOT come off. Wear gloves and an old long sleeve shirt/pants - you don't want exposed skin. Ok so it will come off but not without some serious work. If you are cool with that then go for it.

Maintenance...some will probably come off or get scraped - but it touches up really well. It doesn't stick so well to plastic. It will but will need periodic touch up work.

Do 2 coats. Use masking tape to keep it off what you don't want covered, but remove it after the first coat and re-tape. Or it will be a pain to get off.

You can spray it on. I know a guy that sprayed it on his truck bed and it looks awesome. Best finish with the stuff I've seen. Eiether get a cheap spray gun or clean it very well immediately after use and in between coats or it will clog and it's done.

DETN8R
August 9th, 2009, 01:11 AM
I've been seeing great results with the duplicolor spray can bed liner.
Thanks for the reply Andrew.

Chris
August 9th, 2009, 09:29 AM