PDA

View Full Version : Whitewater kayaking

Medic-5150
November 7th, 2009, 09:29 PM
Does anyone know much about it? I know a lot about rafting, but very little about being in a kayak. Is the following a good deal? I know it's old...but does anything really go wrong with plastic?

http://denver.craigslist.org/boa/1432860608.html

Or for twice as much would this be a much better deal?

http://denver.craigslist.org/spo/1440142551.html

Thanks for any advice!

Haku
November 7th, 2009, 09:47 PM
I've been boating since I was 12 (so 17 years so far), and used to work at a whitewater shop.

Those are decent deals, but I still wouldn't go for them at that price. I'd offer half what they are asking for, and hold there pretty firmly. Those are both pretty dated boats, and you can spend a bit more then the $200 and get something that you won't get tired of after you learn.

Additionally, unless you are dead sure you will take it on, I'd recommend taking a class first. They aren't too spendy, and not only will you learn all the basics, but you'll figure out if it is something you want to continue with. Its one of those sports that looks like a ton of fun, and it is, but its not for everyone.

Honestly, the best place to look on the web is www.mountainbuzz.com , in their gear swap section. This time of year is a great time to look for boating gear, since everyone is selling their stuff to pay for ski stuff. Additionally, nearly every shop in the state does a boat swap in the spring, so thats a great place to go too.

I've seen some "full setups" being sold lately too, so you get all the gear at once. Great way to do it if the stuff is your size. One thing you'll definitely want if you plan on kayaking before July, is a dry top. Colorado rivers and creeks are friggin cold in the spring, so be prepared for that.