PDA

View Full Version : Rally Racing

Zatticus
March 29th, 2010, 10:06 AM
I think thats what I really want to do for a living when i get older, I'm gonna start as soon as I can, gain exp.
And then go pro
:D

It's an amazing sport, theres nothing like going 100mph+ down one lane dirt roads.
Ahah, Anybody have any advice? :D

What do you think would be a good degree to get if going into the racing field? Just wanting human opinions, not textbook theoretical opinions
;p

Volcom
March 29th, 2010, 10:24 AM
Better start saving some $$$, it's an extremely expensive sport (that goes for any kind of motorsport racing). You might want to gain some experience by getting into rallycross. I used to autocross quite a bit back in college. It was a blast! A buddy of mine has won the national championship in modified 2wd for several years now.

Zatticus
March 29th, 2010, 10:26 AM
Yeah, I've been looking at the financial side of it for awhile, and decided i better not build one, just buy a used one and get all the history from it
Rallycross is a good way to learn your car and find out what needs done, and gets some good experience in the process
: )

Volcom
March 29th, 2010, 10:29 AM
Yeah, I've been looking at the financial side of it for awhile, and decided i better not build one, just buy a used one and get all the history from it
Rallycross is a good way to learn your car and find out what needs done, and gets some good experience in the process

The financial side goes WAY deeper than just buying a car and going out and racing it. You've got entry fees, tire costs, fuel costs, general maintenance costs, you just wrecked your car bad & have to fix it costs, travel fees, etc..................................

Zatticus
March 29th, 2010, 10:36 AM
Yeah, it's good to estimate about 2000 per race, including tires, , entry fees, gas for rally car, gas for tow vehicle, maintenance costs, etc,

I know what i'm getting into.
Just need to know the best place/way to start