PDA

View Full Version : Rebuilt Axle. Where should I go to get it done??

Colorado-X
April 29th, 2010, 07:19 AM
Hey Guys,
I've been lurking around here for a month or so and enjoying the posts. I have a question now...

I just found out for the Tynnans Nissan in Fort Collins that my rear diff on my '06 Xterra Off Road (manual transmission) is toast. I have no idea about the specifics of what is toast, but I'm gonna try to get those details today. They told me my only option was to replace the rear diff with a new one and it was going to cost me $3700. They couldn't find a used part and they thing that the housing would be too beat up to rebuild it. And Nissan doesn't sell the parts to rebuild either.

So it has been suggested I have someone else look at it and get the axle rebuild, but I dont know who to go to. I'm new to all this stuff and am pretty much an idiot, so all your help is needed and appreciated.

What do I need to know before seeking someone out?
Who should I bring it to?

Thanks for you help!!!

Pete

Brody
April 29th, 2010, 08:15 AM
What do I need to know before seeking someone out?
Who should I bring it to?

Thanks for you help!!!

Pete

Wow! Thank god another Pete is on the forum. We have multi Robs, Matts, Steves, Andrews, Aarons, Chris'....and now another PETE! I am not alone!!

Well, welcome to the forum. Maybe I can help somewhat with this:

Call Bill at Englewood Drive Shaft as he also does gears and see what he says. Mention you are on the FR forum, too.

Bill: 303-781-0554

Call Bryce Gilick 785-623-8105

He works for a straight $45 per hour plus parts and can set up essentially you bring to him.

If this doesn't work for you or either of these guys can't get you pointed in the right direction, give Scotty at Addicted Off Road a call:

970-420-4198

He primarily works on Toyotas, but is very skilled overall and also in your neck of the woods. Just for that latter bit, you might try him first.